This information service is provided jointly by: Community Energy England and Local Energy Scotland

Copyright © 2054 Community Energy Association (England) Limited. All Rights Reserved.


For any comments or suggestions on this website, please contact us. Follow us on Twitter: @SCO_RES


Shared Community Ownership

of Renewable Energy systems

All about shared community ownership under the Community Energy Strategy's voluntary protocol

Keep updated – follow us on Twitter @SCO_RES

Courtesy: Neilston Community Windfarm

The Taskforce reports

The first draft report was published in June 2014 and is available here.

The Taskforce consulted about this draft, and received over 50 responses. CEE's response is available here

The taskforce's final report was published on 3rd November 2014 and launched by the Secretary of State on 6th November. A copy is available here.

The government published its formal response to the Taskforce on 27th February 2015 - see here.

Other useful links

Shared Ownership Taskforce - the official government webpage

Community Energy Strategy

DECC's Shared Ownership Taskforce

The Shared Ownership Taskforce are representatives from the renewables industry and the community energy sector appointed by the Department of Energy and Climate Change to work towards a voluntary approach to increasing shared ownership of new, commercial onshore renewables developments. The official webpage for the Taskforce is here.

Taskforce members

Maria McCaffery; Chief Executive, RenewableUK (Chair)

Philip Wolfe; Chair, Community Energy England (Vice Chair)

Rebecca Willis; Energy Specialist, Cooperatives UK and Pure Leapfrog (former Vice Chair)

Gemma Grimes; Director of Onshore Renewables, RenewableUK (Secretary)

Pete Capener; Co-Founder and Executive Chair, Bath and West Community Energy

Mark Child; Development Manager, LarkEnergy

Chris Church, Chair, Low Carbon Community Network (LCCN)

Will Dawson; Principal Advisor, Forum for the Future

Patrick Devine-Wright; Professor, University of Exeter

Pauline Gallacher, Neilston Development Trust

Leonie Greene; Lead External Affairs & Policy, Solar Trade Association (STA)

Simon Hamlyn, Chief Executive British Hydro Association (BHA)

Gaynor Hartnell; Community Engagement Advisor, Renewable Energy Association (REA)

Matt Hindle; Policy Manager, Anaerobic Digestion and Biogas Association (ADBA)

Merlin Hyman, Chief Executive, Regen South West

Bonnie Priest; Managing Director, Carbon Free Developments

Robert Rabinowitz; Chief Executive, Pure Leapfrog

Meg Roper, Policy Manager, Combined Heat & Power Association (CHPA)

Dr Nina Skorupska; Chief Executive, Renewable Energy Association (REA)

Mike Smyth; Chair, Energy4All

Zoisa Walton; Head of International Community Engagement, Eneco Wind Ltd

Charles Williams; former Development Director, Falck Renewables

This includes three current directors of CEE, which sponsors this website; and eight who represent CEE member organisations.